Pimp My Plate #2 – COFFS HARBOUR

PIMP MY PLATE is my weekly series of reviews of cafés and restaurants in city and regional areas – I pop up all over over the place. My foodie challenge to find a good meal – lunch or brunch – with a limited budget of $18 or less for the main plate.

Cocoa café

If you’ve just done a business deal, you want to sit down and chill out with some headspace to concentrate, not a headful of music, noise, or hustle. This is the place.

Arriving about 10 mins before the Lunch menu kicked in at noon, we ordered from the All Day Breakfast menu. On a previous visit I ate a deliciously memorable lunch of Moroccan-style Lamb cutlets resting on a bed of risotto … deserving of its front row seat in my food memory.

Our breakfasts arrived – the waitress smiled, the plates smiled with freshness, and my eyes and appetite smiled. The poached eggs were cooked with ‘volumptuous’ perfection. My Zucchini and Corn Fritters ($17) were marathon-sized, and despite my hunger I had to leave a quarter of the meal on the plate … That.Never.Happens.

My partner ordered the Poached Eggs with Smoked Salmon and Mushrooms and was equally impressed.

Cocoa is in the main retail strip and offers great value, and is a great place to meet up with friends, or an informal business meeting. The coffee is 8/10, and the menu is smart cafe food – what they do, they do well. There are a quite a few good places to eat breakfast in this area, I like this one for its consistency.

Rated: Pimped and pumped! Food: 4/5
Value: 5/5 Atmosphere: 4/5 Vibe: from tradies to corporates
Cocoa café – Shop R48 Coffs Central Harbour Dr, Coffs Harbour

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Visit me on facebook at Awia’s Kitchen for what’s happening now
All images © Awia Markey

Leave a Reply

